My first attempt at shabby chic

I am not always a fan of the loosely defined concept of “shabby chic” decor. Sometimes it looks more like garage sale chic. However my hilarious and audacious friend Moxie is the queen of the Chic in the name. Her house, home to 4 children (ages 10 months to 18 years), a husband and a orange tabby, is so cozy and classy that I always feel so awesome and happy when I am over there. I especially love her bathroom… it is small, as her house is a traditional Toronto Victorian, but it is so perfectly decorated that you don’t even notice! It has a lovely white Parisian theme, which I have sort of half  adopted in my bathroom. The other day, I decided that I needed to pump up the colour and interest level of the room. I have my own bathroom and it is a large space so I had something to work with, but I didn’t want to spend a lot of cash (my current job is coming to an end) so I headed to Homesense.

I have to say that Homesense, and its sister store Winners, have always intimidated me with their huge amount of merchandise. Luckily, this past weekend it all came together for me. Within 5 minutes I found a blue metal shelf, four baskets, a candle and two Parisian themed plates that have now become the basis of my shabby chic bathroom.

Take a look at what I have done so far. I am thinking about using empty, painted picture frames to display my jewlery in a nicer way then shown here.

What do you think of my new look?

Image

7 thoughts on “My first attempt at shabby chic

  1. And I have the perfect solution for your jewelry. We’re going to get you a few medium ornate frames and whitewash them. I’ll send you a few examples of what I’m thinking.

  2. Pingback: Shabby Chic Parisian Bathroom « Strolling the City in Heels

Leave a Reply

