No boys allowed (Seriously- you won’t get it)

I was infuriated last month while reading comments made about Kate Upton on a website called SkinnyGossip. This person (slug) had the audacity to imply that Kate Upton, who recently graced the cover of the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit edition, was fat  and that her (natural) breasts were floppy. After washing my eyes out with soap, I got to thinking about how women look at themselves and others when it comes to how we look and dress.

My friend and colleague Lori loves to listen to me rant at people’s outfit choices when we drive in her car. It is my personal version of road rage. Sometimes I get a little mean about people whom I consider to have bad taste, although I by no means consider myself to be the “Fashion Police” and I certainly have made serious wardrobe errors in the past.

I digress….

The thing I see most often that drives me crazy  is  women wearing clothing that doesn’t fit correctly or doesn’t flatter their figures. I truly believe that this is what comes of society hitting us over the head with images of women in fashion magazines wearing clothes that only look good on a hanger (aka a size two runway model). Regular women with regular sized bodies want to wear these clothes because they are the current trend, not because they are flattering on their own body. We are told that if we can wear the clothes we see in magazines, we will be beautiful.

I feel that by being unaware of what works for our individual figures, we are setting ourselves up to feel shitty because we don’t look like the models in the magazines (yes, including Miss Upton).

I love fashion and I love trying the new trends as much as the next girl, but there are somethings that just don’t work for me- micro shorts,high-waisted trousers  and backless dresses for instance. I love these looks on others, but not on me.

Ladies, figure out what looks good on your body and tailor the trends to work for you! Take control!

And for the love of GOD- wear bras that fit!!!! It makes a world of difference.

For a little inspiration, here is a link to a great blog dedicated to showing the world that style doesn’t only come in a size zero.

http://www.gabifresh.com/

 

Leave a Reply

